The Everybody Awards 2019 Shortlist

By jadegriffin August 27, 2019

The Shortlist for 2019’s Everybody Awards has been announced.  This year Everybody Leisure received over 140 nominations, showing a huge commitment to health, sport and physical activity across Cheshire East.

The Awards will take place at Crewe Hall on the 11th of October, and have been supported by a range of businesses.

This year’s awards will be hosted by Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, Paralympic athlete, DBE, and crossbench peer. Tanni has had an incredible career, with 16 Paralympic medals to her name – 11 of which are gold – and 13 world championship medals.

CEO of Everybody Leisure, Peter Hartwell said, “It has been an amazing year for our local heroes in Cheshire East, we received some great nominations with some amazing stories and it was a hard job for the judges to pick the winners. The talent and dedication we have here in Cheshire East is just incredible and we cannot wait to celebrate them on the night.”

Sports Personality of the Year – Sponsored by Applewood Independent

Josh Bettley –Para-athlete

Jack Schofield – IronMan athlete

Daisy Pickles – Macclesfield Duathlon Athlete

Nicole Hazell – Team GB Gymnast

Young Sports Achiever – Sponsored by TechnoGym

Alfie Carter – Crewe – Crewe and Nantwich Athletics

Milly Horsefield – Crewe – Judo (British Champion)

Alisha Evanson – Crewe – British National Tumbling Champion

Disabled Sports Achiever – Sponsored by Crewe Town Council

Poppy Maskill – S14 classified para swimmer

Josh Betteley – Crewe – Para-athlete

Isaac Blackman – Boccia – Macclesfield

Coach of the Year – Sponsored by Cornerstone

Becky Sidwell – Macclesfield – Macclesfield Netball Club

Simon Jones – Crewe –  South Cheshire Amateur Boxing Club

Sammy Hill – Crewe – Camm street fitness centre

Peter Brady – Stoke – Kenzoku Jujitsu Congleton

Customer Hero – Sponsored by XN Leisure

Josh Mitchison – Holmes Chapel Community Centre (Cookery)

Pauline – Crewe Lifestyle Centre (ESCAPE-Pain)

James Rourke –Holmes Chapel Community Centre (ESCAPE-pain)

Macdolf Osei-Kuffour – Crewe Lifestyle Centre (Swimming)

Health and Welbeing – Sponsored by Heath Innovation Manchester

Ruby’s Fund – Congleton

Elworth Pre-school – Sandbach

MS Society Macclesfield – Wilmslow

Ride! – Nantwich

Club of the Year – Sponsored by SpeedFlex

Cheshire Stars Netball – Middlewich

SDA – Street Dance Academy – Sandbach – Dance School

Crewe and Nantwich Rugby Club Ladies – Crewe

Volunteer of the year – Sponsored by Bates Wells

Claire Jesson – Cheshire Netball League

Julie Brookshaw – Cheshire Stars Netball – Middlewich

Sam Parker – Nantwich – Crewe FC

Young Volunteer of the Year – Sponsored by FLM Training

Abigail Painter – Crewe

The evening will recognise a range of inspirational stories from individuals who have demonstrated amazing personal achievements in sport or health as well as announcing this year’s annual Lifetime Achievement award (sponsored by Brakes) and The Chairman’s award.

For more information about the Everybody Awards and ticket information, go to