By Everybody Sport September 21, 2015

Everybody Awards Shortlist Announcement!


On 9th October 2015, the Everybody Awards (www.everybody.org.uk) will be held at Wrenbury Hall in Cheshire where our shortlisted nominees will gather to be recognised for their achievements and helping change lives through healthy recreation.

This year Everybody Sport and Recreation have received over 100 inspiring nominations for the awards from sporting heroes across Cheshire East; out of which 44 have been shortlisted.

Everybody Sport and Recreation are proud to have the support from Applewood Independent as the Headline Sponsors for the awards.

Applewood Independent (applewoodindependent.co.uk/) is based in Nantwich, providing independent financial advice to the people of Staffordshire and South Cheshire since1998. Applewood Independent support and sponsor various events and companies throughout the year to help their community.

David Pritchard, Owner of Applewood Independent commented, “We believe strongly in giving back to our community and the Everybody Awards is no better way to help encourage people in Cheshire, certainly young people to get active and share in the success of those who are already making great achievements.”

This year’s categories and shortlist include:

Club of the Year

  • AFC Alsager
  • Matrix Cheer Squad
  • Satellites of Macclesfield Swimming Club
  • Crewe Central Table Tennis Club
  • Poynton Lacrosse Club
  • Lindow Cricket Club (Wilmslow)


Coach of the Year

  • Mark Russell (Team Chongi Academy, Crewe)
  • Farouk Graba (Crewe Flyers)
  • Andrew Brooks (Crewe Rifle and Pistol Club)
  • Julian Gilding (Rugby Coach in Crewe & Nantwich)
  • Kevin Bradbury(Macclesfield Boys Boxing Club)


Young Sports Achiever of the Year

  • Jordan Ordidge (Taekwondo Crewe GTI)
  • Chloe Esegbona (300m Hurdles, Cheshire Schools and City of Stoke Athletics Club)
  • India Myles (National Gymnastics)
  • Abby Warren (Great Britain Junior Rifle Squad)
  • Anya Haji-Michael (Laser Radial Transition Squad)
  • Ben Arkle (Satellites of Macclesfield Swimming Club)


Disabled Sports Achiever of the year

  • Ellie-Mae Wolfenden (Athletics, British Transplant Games)
  • Megan Short (Para-Swimming & Cerebral Palsy World Games)
  • Megan Giglia (GB Paracycling team)
  • Sophie Hughes (GB Rhythmic Gymnastics)


Volunteer of the year

  • Robert Dutton (Seahorse Swimming Club)
  • Maureen Edmeades (Crewe Flyers)
  • Claire Jesson (Cheshire Netball League)
  • Dennis Artess (Crewe Central Table Tennis Club)
  • Laura Hughes (Cheshire Gymnastics)
  • Jean Hicks (U3a Shavington & Crewe)


Young Volunteer of the year

  • David Skinner (Oakhanger Project)
  • Robyn Spibey (Alsager Netball Club)
  • Rebecca Emeny (Nantwich Seals Swimming Club)


Sports Personality of the Year

  • Ewen MacRury (Knutsford Tri Club)
  • Tom Warren (Crewe Rifle and Pistol Club)
  • Lisa James (Athletics, Sale Harriers)
  • Daniel Budden (Pwllheli Sailing Club)
  • Indian and Georgie Perris-Redding (Crewe and Nantwich RUFC)


Health and Wellbeing Award

  • Musical Moments
  • Bromley Farm Wellbeing Hub
  • S:Park CLC
  • Helen Spencer (Group Fitness Instructor Nantwich & Shavington)


School of the Year

  • Congleton High school
  • Marlfields Primary Academy
  • Wilmslow High School
  • Dean Valley Primary School
  • Lindow Community Primary School


Andrew Kolker, Everybody Chairman commented, ‘we are so pleased with the not only the quantity but quality of entries for the 2015 Everybody Awards. The achievements of these sporting heroes and inspiring stories we have heard from members of our community are very uplifting. We cannot wait to celebrate with all those shortlisted on 9th October, but would also like to congratulate everyone who was nominated. The judges had some very tough decisions to make due to the excellent entries.’

Winners will be announced on the evening of 9th October 2015

For more information about the Everybody Awards please visit: www.everybodyawards.org.uk

Media Contact
Name – Lucy Bevington, Marketing Assistant
Email: [email protected]
Telephone: 01270 686876